Verified senior discounts for 2026-27: what the official pages say
Senior discounts confirmed on each company's own page (Kohl's, Ross, Michaels, Amtrak, park passes, 55+ phone plans and more), the ones that don't hold up, and the 2027 Social Security increase. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Discounts change; confirm at the register. Every row below links to the company's own page, with the date and UTC time we checked it (Oct 23, 2026). All figures on this page are as of Oct 23, 2026. Links on this page are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links. If a chain isn't here, we couldn't confirm it on its own site.
By Sloane Glitchford, Founder
Social Security benefits rise 3.6% in 2027. The increase starts with January 2027 payments, and SSI payments go up starting December 31, 2026 (SSA COLA page, SSA announcement, Oct 14, 2026). Part of that can go to Medicare. CMS hasn't published the 2027 Part B premium yet. For 2026 figures, the standard Part B premium is $202.90 a month and the deductible is $283 (CMS 2026 fact sheet, Medicare.gov). We'll add the 2027 figures when CMS posts them. Below are senior discounts we confirmed on each company's own site, plus a few popular "discounts" that their own pages don't back up.
Senior discounts we confirmed (checked Oct 23, 2026)
| Where | Age | When | Discount | How / where | Proof or membership | Official page, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kohl's | 60+ | Wednesday | 15% off qualifying purchases | Kohl's page doesn't say; ask at the register | Not stated; bring ID | kohls.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Ross Dress for Less | 55+ | Tuesday | 10% off purchases | Tell the associate when you pay; you must be there | May be asked for ID | rossstores.com FAQ Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Michaels | 55+ | Any day | 10% off the entire purchase, including sale items (exclusions apply) | In store and online, US only | Free Michaels Rewards account and age verification, or valid ID | michaels.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Fry's Food Stores (Kroger family) | 55+ | First Wednesday of the month | Extra 10% off most items | In store, or online pickup orders that day (fine print excludes delivery and ship orders) | Enrolled in Fry's Senior Discount | frysfood.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:03 UTC |
| IHOP | 55+ | Any day | 55+ menu (lower-priced versions of favorites) | Participating restaurants; prices vary | Not stated | ihop.com menu Oct 23, 2026, 10:03 UTC |
| Great Clips | 65+ | Year-round | Senior haircut price | Participating salons; may vary by location | Tell your stylist | greatclips.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Cinemark | Typically 62+ | Senior Discount Days (varies) | Senior ticket pricing | Participating theatres | Check your local theatre | cinemark.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Regal | 60+ | Not stated | Senior ticket pricing (no amount listed) | Policies may vary by location | Not stated | regmovies.com age policy Oct 23, 2026, 10:04 UTC |
| Amtrak | 65+ (60+ on Amtrak/VIA Rail Canada cross-border trains) | Any day | 10% off most rail fares on most trains | Not on sleeping accommodation charges | Proof of age when you buy and on board | amtrak.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| National parks (America the Beautiful Senior Pass) | 62+, US citizens and permanent residents | n/a | Senior Annual Pass $20; Senior Lifetime Pass $80 | Covers entrance and standard day-use fees at participating federal sites | Proof of age and residency | nps.gov Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| T-Mobile | 55+ | n/a | Experience More with 55+ Savings: $75 (1 line) / $110 (2 lines). Experience Beyond with 55+ Savings: $90 / $140. Essentials Choice 55: $30 a line with 2 lines | Store, phone or online | Proof of age (primary account holder) | t-mobile.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Verizon | 55+, Florida residents only | n/a | Unlimited Welcome: save $20/mo with 1 line or $30/mo with 2; $45/mo for 1 line or as low as $80/mo for 2 with Auto Pay and paper-free billing | Up to 2 lines | Account owner 55+ and a Florida resident | verizon.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| AT&T | 55+ (account owner) | n/a | AT&T 55+ plan; two unlimited lines plus home internet for $99/mo with AutoPay and paperless bill | You must also have AT&T Fiber or AT&T Internet Air | Proof may be requested after sign-up | att.com support Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Hilton | 65+ | n/a | Up to 6% off the Best Available Rate; up to 2 rooms (second room for family members) | Participating hotels | Proof at check-in | hilton.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:02 UTC |
| Choice Hotels | 60+ or AARP member | n/a | Up to 10% with advance reservations | Pick Senior/AARP in the special-rate menu | Age or AARP membership | choicehotels.com Oct 23, 2026, 10:03 UTC |
Ages go from 55 to 65 depending on the company, and "participating locations" means the store or restaurant near you may not take part. Ask before you order or check out.
By day of the week
- Tuesday: Ross, 55+, 10% (Ross FAQ).
- Wednesday: Kohl's, 60+, 15% on qualifying purchases (Kohl's). Fry's, 55+, extra 10% on the first Wednesday of the month (Fry's).
- Any day: Michaels (55+ with verification), IHOP's 55+ menu, Amtrak (65+), and the senior park passes (62+).
Stores and groceries
Kohl's: Kohl's says shoppers 60 and older "can save 15% on qualifying purchases each Wednesday" (Kohl's store page). Its page doesn't list which items qualify or whether it works online, so ask at the register before you count on it.
Ross: Ross's 55+ Tuesday Discount is 10% off purchases made on Tuesday. You tell the associate when you pay, you may need ID showing your age, and the discount isn't transferable; the customer must be present (Ross FAQ).
Michaels: 10% off your entire purchase, including sale items, for shoppers 55 and older, in store and online in the US. You register through a free Michaels Rewards account and get verified, or show a valid ID. Exclusions include clearance, custom framing, gift cards, Cricut and other craft machines, and LEGO (Michaels senior discount page).
Kroger family stores: senior days are set banner by banner, not chainwide. Fry's offers shoppers 55+ an extra 10% off most items on the first Wednesday of each month, in store or on online pickup orders placed that day, once you're enrolled. The page also mentions delivery, but its fine print says the discount is "not valid on prior purchases, delivery, or ship orders," so ask before you order delivery (Fry's senior discount page). Shop at another Kroger banner? Check that store's own site.
Thrift stores: local Goodwill organizations run their own stores and set their own senior days, so check your local Goodwill's site or ask in the store.
Restaurants
IHOP has a 55+ menu: "Enjoy the perks of being 55+ with our special value selection of all-day IHOP favorites." It includes a 55+ Breakfast Sampler, Rise 'N Shine, Thick 'N Fluffy French Toast, Crispy Shrimp and Crispy Fish. Prices depend on the location (IHOP menu).
Many fast-food restaurants are franchises, so a senior coffee or drink price is up to the owner of each location. We don't list a chain unless its own site states the discount. Ask at the counter.
Travel
Amtrak: travelers 65 and over get 10% off most rail fares on most trains, and 60 and over on Amtrak and VIA Rail Canada cross-border trains. It doesn't apply to sleeping accommodation charges, may not combine with other offers, and you need proof of age when you buy and on board (Amtrak senior discount).
National parks: US citizens and permanent residents 62 and older can buy a Senior Annual Pass for $20 or a Senior Lifetime Pass for $80. It covers entrance and standard day-use fees at sites run by six federal agencies, and may give the passholder a discount on some fees like camping (NPS passes, NPS senior pass FAQ).
Hotels: Hilton's Senior Rate is for travelers 65 and older and their families: up to 6% off the Best Available Rate at participating hotels, up to two rooms (the second for family members only), with proof at check-in (Hilton). Choice Hotels offers up to 10% with advance reservations if you're 60+ or an AARP member (Choice Hotels).
Airlines: Southwest's help center says plainly: "Southwest does not offer senior fares" (Southwest help center). Flying another airline? Check its own fare page before counting on a senior fare, and compare it with the regular sale fare.
55+ phone plans
- T-Mobile: customers 55 and older qualify with proof of age. Experience More with 55+ Savings is $75 for one line or $110 for two; Experience Beyond with 55+ Savings is $90 or $140; Essentials Choice 55 is $30 a line with two lines (T-Mobile 55+ plans).
- Verizon: the 55+ offer is for Florida residents only. The account owner must be 55+ and live in Florida, and it covers up to two lines on Unlimited Welcome: save $20 a month with one line or $30 with two ($45 a month for one line, or as low as $80 for two, with Auto Pay and paper-free billing) (Verizon Florida 55+, Verizon FAQ).
- AT&T: the account owner must be at least 55, and AT&T says "You must sign up for both AT&T Wireless and AT&T Fiber or AT&T Internet Air service" to get the 55+ plan discount. Its bundle is two unlimited lines plus home internet for $99 a month with AutoPay and paperless bill (AT&T support, AT&T 55+ bundle).
Plan prices are before taxes and fees and can change, so check the carrier's page on the day you switch.
Movies and haircuts
Cinemark: "Typically, anyone aged 62 and older qualifies" for senior pricing, and participating theatres run Senior Discount Days; check your local theatre (Cinemark). Regal: "Seniors aged 60 and older are eligible for senior ticket pricing." Regal doesn't list an amount, because prices are set by theatre (Regal age policy). Great Clips: seniors 65 and older get senior haircut pricing at participating salons; it doesn't apply to styling or products (Great Clips).
Senior "discounts" the official pages don't back up
| What you may have read | What the company's own page says (checked Oct 23, 2026) |
|---|---|
| Southwest has senior fares | "Southwest does not offer senior fares." Southwest |
| Joann has a senior discount day | joann.com now sends shoppers to Michaels: "Welcome to Michaels, JOANN fans! It's hard to lose a store you love." Michaels welcome page |
| Regal gives seniors a set dollar amount off | Regal's policy says only that 60+ "are eligible for senior ticket pricing." No amount is listed. Regal |
| Kohl's senior discount only covers certain brands | Kohl's own page says "qualifying purchases" and lists no brands; ask at the register. Kohl's |
| AT&T's 55+ plan is phone-only | AT&T requires AT&T Fiber or AT&T Internet Air too. AT&T support |
| Verizon's 55+ plan is nationwide | It's for Florida residents. Verizon |
| Netflix or Spotify have senior plans | Netflix lists Standard with ads, Standard and Premium; Spotify US lists Individual, Student, Duo and Family. Neither mentions seniors. Netflix plans, Spotify Premium |
How to ask, and what to bring
- Bring a photo ID with your birth date. Ross, Amtrak, Hilton and the park passes all say proof may be required.
- Sign up first where it's needed: Michaels Rewards verification and Fry's enrollment come before the discount works.
- Ask before you check out or order. At "participating" locations the answer can differ from store to store.
- Compare against a sale. A senior percentage off a regular price isn't always the lowest price; see how to verify a deal is real and our price match policies.
Sources (checked Oct 23, 2026, 10:02-10:04 UTC)
- Social Security and Medicare: SSA COLA, SSA release, CMS 2026 Part B fact sheet, Medicare.gov costs
- Stores: Kohl's, Ross, Michaels, Fry's
- Restaurants, movies, haircuts: IHOP, Cinemark, Regal, Great Clips
- Travel: Amtrak, NPS passes, NPS senior pass, Hilton, Choice Hotels, Southwest
- Phone plans: T-Mobile, Verizon, Verizon FAQ, AT&T support, AT&T 55+ bundle
- Streaming and closed stores: Netflix, Spotify, Michaels welcome page for Joann shoppers
Quick answers
How much is the Social Security increase for 2027?
3.6%. SSA announced the 2027 cost-of-living adjustment on Oct 14, 2026. It starts with Social Security benefits paid in January 2027, and SSI payments rise starting Dec 31, 2026. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
What is the Medicare Part B premium for 2027?
CMS hadn't published the 2027 figure when we checked (Oct 23, 2026). For 2026, the standard Part B premium is $202.90 a month and the annual deductible is $283.
What day is the Kohl's senior discount?
Wednesday. Kohl's says shoppers 60 and older can save 15% on qualifying purchases each Wednesday. Confirm at the register. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
What day is Ross senior day?
Tuesday. Ross's 55+ Tuesday Discount is 10% off purchases made on Tuesday; tell the associate when you pay, and you may need ID. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Does Michaels have a senior discount?
Yes. Shoppers 55 and older get 10% off the entire purchase, including sale items, in store and online in the US, after verifying through a free Michaels Rewards account or showing a valid ID. Exclusions apply. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
How old do you have to be for a senior discount?
It depends on the company. On the official pages we checked: 55 at Ross, Michaels, Fry's, IHOP and T-Mobile; 60 at Kohl's and Regal; 62 for the national park Senior Pass and typically at Cinemark; 65 at Amtrak, Hilton and Great Clips.
Does Southwest have senior fares?
No. Southwest's help center says Southwest does not offer senior fares. Checked Oct 23, 2026.
How much is the national park senior pass?
$20 for the Senior Annual Pass or $80 for the Senior Lifetime Pass, for US citizens and permanent residents 62 and older. Checked Oct 23, 2026.